Governing Body

Statement by the Chair of the Governing Body


I have had the privilege of serving as Chair of the Wetherby High School Governing Body for over four years now.  It has been four challenging, but extremely rewarding years during which the Governing Body has worked closely with the Local Authority and with the Governing Body and leadership team of Carr Manor Community School to bring about much-needed change. 

We know that we now have a successful school which enables all of our children to achieve their potential, both personal and academic, and to leave us as confident and resilient young adults, well prepared for whatever lies ahead for them.  

The role of the Governing Body is not to run the school on a day-to-day basis – that is the preserve of the Headteacher and Senior Leadership Team.  Governors set the long-term strategic goals for the school and monitor its performance against them.  We act as ‘critical friends’ to the School’s leadership and staff, balancing independent scrutiny with genuine support for our dedicated team of professionals.

Our Governing Body has a wide range of skills and experience, and, in addition, we are all local residents and have a common aim – to ensure that Wetherby High School is an excellent school and a real asset to the community it serves.  We want the school to play an active part in the life of our town, including the sharing of our facilities and participating in community events. 

School governors are unpaid volunteers, but the role is a demanding and responsible one which requires both time and commitment.  We are very fortunate at Wetherby High School in having a team of individuals who are keen to ensure its continued success.  You will find more information about them on this page of the school website.

If you would like to ask a question or make a comment, whether it be critical or complimentary, governors can be contacted via this website or through the School Office.

Cindy Bentley
Chair of Wetherby High School Governing Body



List of Governors - September 2018/19

Wetherby High School Governing Body

For more detailed information on our governing body members please click here.

For Governing Body meeting attendance information, please click here.

Name of Governor Category of Governor and committees served Date appointed and term of office Relevant business/personal interests Any other educational establishments governed Relationships with the school staff including spouses, partners and relatives
Lucie Lakin Headteacher None N/A
Cindy Bentley Chair of Governors Local Authority 17/09/2012 - 16/09/2020 Town Councillor Trustee/Director of the Education Trust for Wetherby N/A
Neil O'Byrne Co-Vice Chair/Chair of Resources with responsbility for Safeguarding. Co-opted Governor 01/10/2014 - 01/02/2022 Town Councillor N/A
Paul Sibbons Co-Vice Chair/Chair of Learning Committee Co-opted Governor 01/10/2014 - 01/10/2022 Trustee/Director of the Education Trust for Wetherby N/A
Caroline Nielson Parent Governor - Member of the Learning sub committee with responsibility for Special Needs 07/05/2014 - 20/06/2022 None N/A
John Eaton Parent Governor - Member of the Resources-sub committee with responsibility for Premises and Health and Safety 07/05/2014 - 20/06/2022 None N/A
Denise Podlewska Co-opted Governor - Member of the Learning sub committee with responsibility for Pupil Premium 24/12/2015 - 23/12/2019 None N/A
Sandra Clynes Co-opted Governor - Member of the Resources sub committee 19/05/2016 - 18/05/2020 None Governor at Crossley Street Primary School, Wetherby N/A
Mike Prentice Staff Governor - Member of the Learning sub-committee 14/05/2015 - 13/05/2019 None N/A
Michael Green Foundation Governor 16/01/2017 - 15/01/2021 Trustee/Director of the Education Trust for Wetherby N/A
Heather Shipman Co-opted Governor 06/07/2017 - 05/07/2021 None N/A
Malcolm Winterburn Co-opted Governor 30/11/2017- 21/11/2021 None N/A
Mark Hopkins Foundation Governor 15/01/2018- 14/01/2022 Co-opted member of the Education Trust for Wetherby N/A