Statement by the Chair of the Governing Body

I have had the privilege of serving as Chair of the Wetherby High School Governing Board for over a decade now. It has been an interesting experience, as well as a very rewarding one, to see the school grow and develop year by year.

We know that we have a very successful, inclusive community school which enables all of our children, whatever their ability, to achieve their potential, both personal and academic, and to leave us as confident and resilient young adults, well prepared for whatever lies ahead for them.

As many of you are aware, we have been working for a number of years with local and national politicians to achieve a new building for our children.

The role of the Governing Board is not to run the school on a day-to-day basis – that is the preserve of the Headteacher and Senior Leadership Team. Governors set the long-term strategic goals for the school and monitor its performance against them. We act as ‘critical friends’ to the School’s leadership and staff, balancing independent scrutiny with genuine support for our dedicated team of professionals.

Our Governing Board has a wide range of skills and experience, and, in addition, we are all local residents and have a common aim – to ensure that Wetherby High School is an excellent school and a real asset to the community it serves. We want the school to play an active part in the life of our town, including the sharing of our facilities and participating in community events.

School governors are unpaid volunteers, but the role is a demanding and responsible one which requires both time and commitment. We are very fortunate at Wetherby High School in having a team of individuals who are keen to ensure its continued success. You will find more information about them on this page of the school website.

If you would like to ask a question or make a comment, whether it be critical or complimentary, governors can be contacted via this website or through the School Office.

Cindy Bentley
Chair of Wetherby High School Governing Body

September 2023/24

For more detailed information on our governing body members please see below

List of Governors
Meet the governors

For Governing Body Statutory Information, please click below

Statutory Information

For Governing Body Attendance Figures, please click below

Attendance Information